Idioms…idioms…idioms!

An idiom is a phrase where the words together have a meaning that is different from the dictionary definitions of the individual words, which can make idioms hard for English learners to understand.

Follow this link for a dictionary of 3,626, A-Z English idiomatic expressions with definitions:

http://www.usingenglish.com/reference/idioms/a.html

Here are some idiomatic expressions related to music. 

1) David is very humble, he doesn’t like to blow his own trumpet.

2) Sarah said she did not want to work late, but she’s changed her tune and is now happy to earn the extra money.

3) The car didn’t cost me much, I got it for a song.

4) I’m going travelling but I don’t know where yet – I’ll play it by ear.

5) I find Maths very difficult, but I am going to pull out all the stops to get a good grade in my exam

6) The doctor told Leo he was fit as a fiddle

7) My brother and I have fallen out, I feel it is my fault, but it takes two to tango

8) Ed wanted his employees to feel confident with their work, so he called a meeting and his speech hit the right note.

9) My boyfriend told me he loved me, it was music to my ears

10) Tom read the exam question and it was clear as a bell

Which one means:

A) change your mind B) show off C) buy cheaply D) decide later? E) try very hard

F) perfect health G) both sides are involved or to blame H) had a positive effect I) exactly what you want to hear J) easy to understand

Please comment below what your answers are and we will get back to you and let you know what you scored.

This is a great way to learn idioms and improve your English grammar.

Categories: English Tips, Learning English | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Idioms…idioms…idioms!

  1. Hi Isiah,

    Thank you for your post and compliment of our blog. Setting time aside to write a post can be difficult as well as thinking of exciting things to write. I try to use current topics, things that have been popular on facebook, the news or other blogs recently and work from there.

    I hope this helps.

  2. First off I would like to say fantastic blog!
    I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.

    I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear
    your mind prior to writing. I’ve had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Many thanks!

Please let us know your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,470 other followers

